Mahama Confers State Honours On Duffuor, 27 Others

President Mahama has conferred national honours on some 28 prominent Ghanaians including former Finance Minister Dr. Kwabena Duffuor at a special event in Accra. The former governor of the Bank of Ghana was honored with the Companion of the Order of the Volta award in Accra Friday.

Dr. Duffuor was among 28 dignitaries who were awarded for distinguishing themselves in their field of endeavor. Others awarded at the event held at the State House include former Justice of the Supreme Court Justice Samuel Dateh-Baah, Speaker of Parliament, Doe Adjaho, former Finance Minister, Dr. Kwesi Botchwey and Agogohene, Nana Akuako Sarpong.

Others are Lt. Gen. Peter Augustine Blay (Rtd), former Chief of Staff Henry Martey Newman, Nana Ato Dadzie, and Ato Ahwoi. Speaking at the award ceremony president Mahama said the honour will inspire others to emulate such patriots of the land.

“For those that we notice and award we do so to serve as a stimulus to others to place national service to humanity above self…the life stories of these Ghanaian men and women are part of the larger Ghanaian story,” President Mahama said.

Prior to today’s ceremony, the nation in the course of the year at various times conferred awards on Mr. Sean Graham and Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Bin Abdul Aziz Alsaud in England and Saudi Arabia respectively.

The former Chairman of the Electoral Commission, Dr. Kwadwo Afari Gyan and 42 members of the Ghana Medical brigade who served in Liberia during the outbreak of the Ebola in that country were also honoured.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *